The National Bed Federation (NBF), the trade association for British and Irish bed manufacturers and their suppliers, has appointed Tony Lisanti, CEO of Airsprung Group, as its president.

Tony will take over from Simon Spinks, MD of Harrison Spinks, who has served a year as NBF president.

An NBF council/board member for some 16 years, Tony has seen the trade association transform itself into a modern, forward-thinking and ambitious organisation. Tony, who also sits on the NBF Quality and Standards committee and chairs the Recycling committee, says: “I am genuinely honoured to be the next NBF president. I aim to continue the sterling work of past presidents on raising standards in the industry and making further significant progress on how the industry handles waste and recycling.

“The NBF has played a vital part in educating consumers about the benefits of a good bed as a requisite for good health, alongside insisting on high levels of integrity from its members presenting themselves to those consumers. As the market continues to develop and change ever more rapidly, I can see both challenges and opportunities for the industry and I am absolutely sure that with the proven talent across the membership and the association’s leadership, the NBF and its members will continue to thrive.”

Tony started his working life as an apprentice technician with Mars in 1974 before graduating in Engineering & Business from Coventry Polytechnic in 1984. He then worked in various technical, sales and commercial positions with Rio Tinto Zinc before becoming a director of a subsidiary business within that group at 28 years of age.

Having moved to conglomerate Spear & Jackson to take on a role of MD of a small division, he was eventually appointed CEO of that group in 1998. He then moved to Airsprung in 2002, became a major shareholder in the business and oversaw various strategic changes, including its successful sale into private ownership. 

One new director was also elected to the NBF executive board, David Moffitt of Kayfoam Woolfson.