17 June 2024, 04:54
By Furniture News Oct 11, 2016

Call for entries for the Design Guild Mark Awards 2017

The Furniture Makers’ Company is now calling for submissions for the Design Guild Mark Awards 2017. The Design Guild Mark is recognised in the furnishing industry as a major mark of excellence in British design and is approaching its tenth year.

The Design Guild Mark Awards promote excellence and raise the profile of British design and innovation. They recognise and reward designers working in Britain or British Designers working abroad. The award demands the highest standards in the design of furniture for volume production.

The Design Guild Mark judging panel for 2016 was:

Simon Alderson - twentytwentyone Jeremy Myerson - Royal College of Art

Joanna Biggs - GA Design Philippa Prinsloo - John Lewis

Barbara Chandler - Evening Standard Pernille Stafford - Resonate Interiors

Sebastian Conran - Sebastian Conran Associates Paul Tanner - Marks & Spencer Furniture

Diana Monkhouse - SpaceInvader

“It is good to experience some of the finest British designers explain the thought, detail and craftsmanship that goes into their designs. Often it is the intangible things that are the most important and yet difficult to discuss, as it is often a question of that ghastly word, ‘Taste.’ I would like to recall Josiah Wedgwood noting that, “Fashion is often more significant than Merit,” something worth considering when judging’s one’s peers’ work," says Sebastian Conran, director of Conran & Partners.

“The diversity of submissions were reflected by thoughtful and challenging debate throughout the day. To see and experience design excellence across such different substrates and solutions, methods of make and manufacture was impressive, ”Philippa Prinsloo, head of design for John Lewis Partnership.

Those wishing to submit your product should visit The Furniture Makers’ Company’s website or click here and complete the Call for Entries form. The closing date is 24th February 2017.

© 2013 - 2024 Gearing Media Group Ltd. All Rights Reserved.