15 July 2024, 03:12
By Furniture News Aug 27, 2021

Lighting association welcomes new council members

On the 30th July, the Lighting Industry Association (LIA) held its AGM. Due to Covid this was held online, with many of the board, the LIA CEO and past Interim LIA CEO able to meet together as a team.

Residing president Terry Dean welcomed all and reflected over the past 18 months, highlighting the positive changes which have taken place at the LIA. Terry also gave his thanks to the various committees that support the LIA and thanked Paul Crisp for his support in his tenure as interim CEO.

The LIA is governed through a team of industry-wide volunteer representatives, collectively known as the LIA Council. Its purpose is to support lighting member businesses and individual members to thrive and excel with up-to-date lighting training, testing, lobbying and knowledge. Annually, a selection of council members automatically retires, thus providing an opportunity for other LIA members to contribute. LIA CEO Matt Sturgess formally announced that the following members were elected to council in the May elections for a term of four years: David Barnwell, Paul Coggins, Amanda Speight and Heidi De Lucchi, representing commercial luminaires; Catherine Connolly, representing domestic luminaires; and Simon Lilley, representing components, services and controls.

Matt thanked all those that stood for election and those that voted. He also noted that Steve Stark retired in May 2021 and Peter Van de Kolk left John Cullen in 2020, and thanked them for their contribution and commitment to the LIA Council.

Matt Sturgess also confirmed that the officers serving until the 2022 AGM will be: president Terry Dean (D W Windsor); VP Peter McVeigh (Status International); and VP Matt Carpenter (Feilo Sylvania).

The AGM concluded with Terry Dean presenting the LIA Presidents Award, which recognises exceptional service to the lighting industry. This year’s recipient is David Wright, MD of Emergency Lighting Products and Jordan Reflectors.

© 2013 - 2024 Gearing Media Group Ltd. All Rights Reserved.