23 July 2024, 21:19
By Furniture News May 20, 2022

NBF elects new president

The National Bed Federation (NBF), the trade association for British and Irish bed manufacturers and their suppliers, has appointed a new president following election at its AGM.

Jim Gerety, MD of Vispring, will take over from David Moffitt, CEO of Kayfoam Woolfson, manufacturer of the Kaymed brand, who has served two years as NBF president.

“It is an honour to be asked to serve as president for the NBF," says Jim, who has been an active member of the trade association, having sat on the board for three years.

"The NBF is an organisation that seeks to nurture the best interests of our extremely important British bedmaking industry, which employs a significant number of people directly and supports an equally important supply industry.

"Anything I can do to assist our members thrive in an increasingly tough and competitive environment, I will gladly carry and embrace.”

Jim has worked at Vispring for 11 years, the first five as its UK sales director and the last six years as MD. He is also specifically responsible for sales development in Asia, North America and Canada.

Before arriving at Vispring, Jim was the merchandising director at House of Fraser for all homeware and furniture. Prior to that, he had a predominantly clothing background, with overseas sales experience as the MD for Lee Cooper Jeans. He also held various management positions in merchandising, sourcing and operations for Aquascutum, Pringle of Scotland and Marks and Spencer.

Tean Dallaway, group finance director at Airsprung Furniture Group, takes on the role as VP, manufacturers, alongside her existing role of NBF treasurer.

Simon Green, MD at CPS Group, continues as VP, suppliers.

At the AGM, members also voted on a special resolution to amend the company’s articles of association, reverting to a council of 12 members overseeing the association’s governance and a smaller board of five legal directors of the company, limited by guarantee.

Pictured: NBF president Jim Gerety and former president David Moffitt

© 2013 - 2024 Gearing Media Group Ltd. All Rights Reserved.