23 May 2024, 07:06
By Furniture News May 12, 2023

This year's Design Guild Mark recipients announced

Innovation of materials and creativity remain at the forefront of British design, as 30 submissions from three categories are to be awarded the Design Guild Mark in 2023.

The Design Guild Mark is awarded by The Furniture Makers’ Company, in order to drive excellence and raise the profile of British industrial design. The mark is unique in that the programme is not a competition with a ranking of entries and a winner – instead, the award is given to all designs that demonstrate to the jury that they represent the highest standards of originality and innovation in industrial design.

The Design Guild Mark is awarded across three categories – furniture, interior design elements, and lighting design – and is open to designers working in Britain, or British designers working abroad, and entries for all categories can be for designs intended for domestic, office, hospitality, educational or corporate use, and for both interior and exterior environments.

Each distinct category has its own jury of design experts who assess the submissions against a series of criteria. Does the design demonstrate new and original thinking and problem solving? Is the design fit for purpose? Does it incorporate innovative manufacturing materials and processes? Does the design develop a brand’s position? Does the design demonstrate a commitment to sustainable consumerism?

The winning designers – some newcomers, as well as previous holders – will be celebrated at an awards ceremony on 23rd May.

In addition to honouring the winners, the ceremony will include the announcement of the winners of the Jonathan Hindle Prize. This additional award is selected by the judges and is presented to the most outstanding of the year’s Design Guild Mark-awarded pieces, and each recipient will receive a trophy and cash prize.

Rodney McMahon, chairman of the Design Guild Mark, comments: “Meeting the applicants, hearing their design journey, and witnessing the friendly but insightful and probing questions of the judges is an enjoyable design masterclass. Designers should apply for the Design Guild Mark just for the experience of meeting the judges.”

This year's recipients are …

Interior design elements: The Brutalist Collection (DGM 284), designed by Claire Canning and Lindsey Hesketh for Granite + Smoke; and Main Line Twist (DGM 285), designed by Hayley Barrett and Jane Marks-Yewdall for Camira.

Lighting: Oslin Collection (DGM 286), designed by David Irwin for Luum; the Muse Solid Brass (DGM 287), designed by Tala for Tala; and Solid Rechargeable Light (DGM 288), designed by Terence Woodgate for Case Furniture.

Furniture: Metro (DGM 289), designed by Alex Blondek and Rodney Kinsman for OMK Design; Bilbao (DGM 290), designed by Tim Rundle for Morgan Furniture; Utility Shelf (DGM 291), designed by Rachael Heritage for WOUD; Edge Free (DGM 292), designed by Luke Pearson and Tom Lloyd for Modus Furniture; Omada (DGM 293), designed by Mark Gabbertas for Gloster; Metis (DGM 294), designed by Gabbertas Studio for TrabA; Jump (DGM 295), designed by Gabbertas Studio for TrabA; GEMLA OPEN (DGM 296), designed by Samuel Wilkinson for GEMLA; Ooty (DGM 297), designed by Jack Smith and Gemma Matthias for Allermuir; Bastille (DGM 298), designed by Patrick Norguet for Allermuir; Plum (DGM 299), designed by Mark Gabbertas for Allermuir (pictured); Hideaway Wall Desk (DGM 300), designed by Chris Fowler for Bisley; Hideaway Swing Desk (DGM 301), designed by Chris Fowler for Bisley; Amity Seat (DGM 302), designed by the Gaze Burvill Design Team for Gaze Burvill; Uniun Bench & Planter (DGM 303), designed by Furnitubes for Furnitubes; SYD (DGM 304), designed by Aaron Probyn for Another Country; Tarn (DGM 305), designed by Gemma Matthias for Hitch Mylius; Domus Desk (DGM 306), designed by Matthew Hilton for The Conran Shop; Iris Lounge Chair (DGM 307), designed by Huw Evans for The Conran Shop; Mag Table Collection (DGM 308), designed by Daniel Schofield for The Conran Shop; AD11 Lounge Chair (DGM 309), designed by Huw Evans and Campbell Thompson for The Conran Shop; Cross Task Chair (DGM 310), designed by Pearson Lloyd for TAKT; Marlow Table (DGM 311), designed by Matthew Hilton for Case Furniture; and Slot Shelving (DGM 312), designed by Terence Woodgate for Case Furniture.

Chaired by Rodney McMahon, this year’s judging panel were: Joanna Biggs, hospitality interior design consultant at Sherliker Biggs; Sarah Bryan, associate partner at ID:SR, Sheppard Robson's interior design group; Sheridan Coakley, founder of SCP; Elliott Koehler, creative director at JPA Design; Tom Pearce, co-founder of Farrah & Pearce; Terence Woodgate, industrial designer at Studio Woodgate; Daniel Hopwood, director at Studio Hopwood; Clare Johnston, emeritus professor at the Royal College of Art and textile designer for fashion and interiors at Royal College of Art; Natasha Marshall, designer and founder of Natasha Marshall; Corinne Pringle, director at tp bennett; Emma Sewell, textile designer at Wallace Sewell; Peter Thwaites, design director at Rapture and Wright; Simon Alderson, co-founder of twentytwentyone; Simon Terry, owner and joint MD at Anglepoise; John Tree, designer at Jasper Morrison; and Sebastian Wrong, design director at Established & Sons.

Pictured: Plum (DGM 299), designed by Mark Gabbertas for Allermuir

© 2013 - 2024 Gearing Media Group Ltd. All Rights Reserved.