22 May 2024, 13:19
By Furniture News Mar 15, 2018

The Furniture Awards 2018 winner – Living Category

The winner of the Living Category in The Furniture Awards 2018 was Tetrad, for Constable.

Tetrad emerged victorious from one of the most hard-fought categories to date, which saw top-end glamour vie with affordable charm for the judges’ attention.

Although well-grounded in existing styles, Constable delivered a finely-honed package of comfort, quality and aesthetics, ticking every box and edging ahead of the shortlisted competitors.

Blending classical English style with textured embroidery, Constable is part of Tetrad’s Heritage Collection. This eclectic, all-natural range offers a combination of hand-tanned full-grain leathers and soft velvet, layered with kilim and applique scatter cushions. 

This is the second successive win for Tetrad – the popular brand took the top accolade in the Living Category at The Furniture Awards 2017 for its pinstriped Gatsby – and demonstrates that its sale to the Belfield Group in July last year has not dented its ability to deliver show-stopping upholstery.

The judges said: “There was nothing we didn’t like about it. It’s extremely comfortable, presented in fashionable colours, and so commercial. Offering Italian leathers, Peruvian cushions, and feather and down fillings, Constable makes a mockery of its competitors’ pricing.”

Tetrad accepts its trophy

From left: Janaury Furniture Show director Laraine Janes; BFM MD Jackie Bazeley; Tetrad director Janus Cooper; and Paul Farley

Developed by Furniture News magazine in partnership with the January Furniture Show – and supported by the BFM this year – The Furniture Awards seek to recognise the industry’s champions, by identifying the most commercial and creative products launched at the exhibition, across four categories –bedroom, dining, living and decor. Working alongside awards co-ordinator (and editor-in-chief of Furniture News magazine) Paul Farley, this year’s judges were Malcolm Walker (Furniture Village), Jacquie Benedukt (Fenwick) and Debbie Watmore (AHF).

© 2013 - 2024 Gearing Media Group Ltd. All Rights Reserved.